4 comments on “All hands on deck!

  1. “We were again short three players …

    … having lost just two games in our first seven matches, we’ve now lost ten in the last three!”

    I’m going to go out on a limb here and suggest those things may be related. Jack hasn’t played since round 6, and that was always going to tell, especially with such a tough run-in.

  2. “Brendan took a comfortable enough draw – though I think he missed a free pawn in wholesale swaps which could have given him winning chances”

    I can’t work out how to post the position but here it is in FEN (copy the below and use the “Paste FEN” option in Fritz’s position setup window) :

    r2q1rk1/4Bppp/pp2p3/8/P2Pn3/8/1P3PPP/2RQR1K1 b – 0 18

    For a learning moment, see if you can work out why I was right not to take the f2 pawn… Of course it would have been nice to have seen the idea of taking the f2 pawn and then dismissed it but you can’t have everything!

  3. I’ve dropped that diagramme into the article – nice little twist in there. (I saw Nxf2 immediately on passing the game; I’d like to think I’d have been able to see why it didn’t work – or at least, on a night when I was on form, I might have seen it!)

Leave a Reply

