2 comments on “Euro heartache for Benildus in Athlone

  1. I enjoyed your entertaining account of the battle in Athlone. I wonder, did you announce check when you interposed your bishop on c4? If you had, he would have been unlikely to move his Queen. This is not a criticism, since I have noticed that these days the announcing of check has fallen into disuse, where previously it was common, even seen as obligatory (though there is no FIDE ruling on it, as far as I know; it remains at most a courtesy). I guess, with the prevalence of blitz and other faster time controls, players began not to announce check in the hope of taking their opponent’s King.

  2. I didn’t announce check – I quite genuinely didn’t even see it was check! I was that resigned to losing…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.